Use-less Idea

Here’s something I just thought of, and have no use for whatsoever. Yet. It’s really quite elegantly simple, and I’d like to be able to use it for something someday, so I thought I’d throw it out here to see if anyone on the internet has a thought to share on it.

Now, we all know there are 52 weeks in a year.  And we all know there are 52 cards in a (standard) deck.  So if you wanted to, you could assign a single card to each week of the year.  If I were doing the assigning I’d start with the lowest card at the beginning of the year, and work my way up, doing one suit at a time.  Curiously, if you mark the cards down on the Saturday of each week, it comes to exactly three months per suit with no carryover.

My initial thought was to come up with some kind of event which happens at different times to different people about five or six times per year (or perhaps a list of five events which happen at different times), and assigning a card to each individual per the week on which the event occurs.  At the end of the year (at a New Year’s party or some such) the cards collected would be compared and ranked based on poker rules, and the winner of the “hand of the year” should receive some prize or recognition.

The problem I have is that I can’t think of any events which happen at different times to different people reliably several times during the year.  Anniversaries are undesirable, as they do not change from year to year, and would not provide much excitement or variation in the cards “dealt”.  Also, many people have significant annual events around the same times, so there is a great chance that many players could have several of the same cards.

So now I open it up to the Internet Generation.  What events could I use to mark “deal weeks”?  Could another game be invented with this idea?  Does something like this exist somewhere already?  Let me know!

Categories: Discussion | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

